thepostpunkmom

The Totally True Adventures of Motherhood in Suburbia

baby brother’s 21st birthday August 9, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — scriptiasuburbium @ 3:20 pm

So I guess they really aren’t babies anymore. The years have just flown by, which makes me realize how quickly my baby will be 21- which means I’ll be 51. I don’t really want to think about that. It also makes me remember (vaguely) being 21. That was kind of a fun year. The heady days of Taco Mac, Clayton College, The Nick, Jeff State, and my Volkswagon Cabriolet. I loved that car. I told DH when I am 50 and all our kids are driving, I am buying another one. It was fabulous! Imagine driving with the top down, a car full of people singing, the wind whipping through your hair and a full moon lighting the country roads. What was your favorite car? What do you remember about being 21?

 

4 Responses to “baby brother’s 21st birthday”

  1. Jody Says:

    oh my, I LOVE cabriolets! I am so jealous you drove around one. My first car, at 16, was a $300 Celebrity. Ha, it was awful but I got to pick up all my friends and take them to high school which made me feel cool. Mind you I only lived a few blocks away from the school, ha.

    21, oh gosh what a year. On my actual birthday I had finals for my senior year of college, so I didn’t get to celebrate properly. The week after I picked up and moved to start my former accounting career. I am so glad that was short lived!

  2. Kristen Says:

    You aren’t going to be 51 are you? Surely you meant 31 🙂
    What a fun car. I have yet to have a “fun” car…saving it for the golden years, I guess!

  3. zazazu Says:

    You know… I don’t really even remember being 21. It isn’t that it wasn’t memorable, I’m sure, but I just have a really bad memory. Eeeeek! And I’m only 31! But, I do remember my first car… a 2000 Nissan Altima that I shared with my little brother. I loved that car and still think fondly of it. It was a good GOOD car and really served us well.

    Great post! Glad to see you blogging again… xo!

  4. projectmetta Says:

    Happy belated birthday to your brother! 🙂
    Hmm, I did have a crappy two-door beige Ford Tempo (can’t remember the year) the last year or so of high school. It would die on me while driving. Tempos were notorious for that! Scared the living daylights out of me. Eek! I’d *love* to have a Jeep Wrangler fueled with bio-diesel (for country road driving) and a Smart Car (avail. in Europe, but should be avail. here next year) for short drives (I’m not a good driver! It’s too taxing and I’d rather be chauffered so I can better enjoy the scenery!). 😉


Leave a Reply

